How to Change Files on Google Drive Without Changing Links – Google Drive is a place to store files for free and can be shared with anyone, be it friends, family, colleagues and anyone, very easily. Google provides a large enough space and we can use it for free. With this online file storage space, it becomes easy for us when we want to store various kinds of important files and documents online and share them with others by simply sharing a link or link.
I personally use this Google Drive storage to share files and work documents so that the team can access it and work on it simultaneously from any place. In addition, I also use Google drive to store various files for download by my blog users. An example is I put a file premium WordPress theme which I sell on Google drive.
However, on Google Drive, if we upload a file and share the link or link with other people, then after making any changes to the file, we need to share the link for the updated file again. Google Drive allows uploading of multiple files with the same name and format which means you can’t replace the old file with the updated version even though they both have the same name, and that causes the formation of two different links or links.
In this article I will share how to change files on Google Drive without changing the link or link, so when you change the updated file, you don’t have to share a different link with other people.
How to Change Files on Google Drive Without Changing Links
There is a simple way around it and all it takes is 4 simple steps. Note that this tip will only work with files stored on Google Drive such as MS Office files, PDFs, images, zip, etc. But this doesn’t work with Google Docs files.
Find the file in Google Drive that you want to replace or update. Right click on the file and then click “Manage Versions”. The Manage Versions option only works when you are using Google Drive on web browser. And it doesn’t work on mobile apps.
Click the “Upload New Version” button.
Important: Old versions of files that you update will be automatically deleted by Google Drive within 30 days or after 100 versions have been saved. If you don’t want your old files to be deleted, click the three-dot menu on the old files and select “Keep Forever”.
Select a new file stored on your computer and click “Open”.
After a new file has been uploaded or uploaded, you can see the newer and older versions of the same file. Both will have the same link or link to share.
And done! By default, Google Drive will keep old versions of any files for 30 days. You can also download old versions of files, delete them or keep them forever. You can also use the above mentioned method to replace the file with a different format or name while the shareable link remains the same.
And those are the easy steps you can follow to replace or update files on Google drive but without needing to change any links or links. This simple method is very important when you frequently update files that you store on your Google Drive.